Crippled by design

At times I can’t help feeling that Windows are crippled by design. This is what happened to me yesterday when I needed to install a new copy of Outlook on my netbook:

  1. Download a fresh copy Office 2007 from the Internet (thank you MSDNAA) in my media PC; total time required 15 minutes or so
  2. Put in a 8GB USB stick to copy the ISO to; got an out of disk space (total time 1 minute)
  3. Verify that the drive indeed had (mysteriously) just 200+ MB free space out of total 1GB.
  4. Fire up Computer Management; find out that I had indeed created just a 1GB partition
  5. Try to create a 2nd partition in the 7GB available free space; find out that the relevant option is not available

WTF? In a moment of haste instead of “turning it off and on again” I first opted to search through Google and stumbled upon a number of references describing the following problem:

By default, a USB flash drive is detected by Windows XP/Vista as removable media and thus will not display more than one partition. In addition, Windows will not allow you to multi-partition removable media.

I ended up transferring the ISO through my wireless (my media PC is divorced from any wiring). Probably took the same time that it took to download it from the Internet.

ARGH!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

